The current Montana annual registration fee for for motor homes is $282.50 for RVs less than 2 years old. As your RV ages, the annual registration fee decreases to the point that at year 11, you can get a permanent tag and stop paying annual fees.
How do I license a motorhome in Montana?
Send your RV purchase paperwork to your Montana LLC service provider. Have your MT LLC service company walk into the DMV, register your RV, and mail you back your registration and license plate. Your title will come later—have your registered agent send you the title. Maintain a MT registered agent.
Why are so many RVs registered in Montana?
And why these two states? In short, the answer is to save money. RV registration fees by state vary, and so do RV taxes.
Is it legal to register an RV in Montana?
The Montana RV titling Scheme Explained
This Montana scheme is very appealing to many. … All this is perfectly legal in Montana. Indeed, forming LLCs and registering RVs like this is a big business out there. The rub comes in your home state, unless, of course, your real home state IS Montana.
What is the best state to register a motorhome?
Because, after all, finding the cheapest state to register your RV can be the ticket to getting the best deal on your RV. And that state is Montana. With no sales tax, no wheel tax, no personal property tax, and low registration fees, Montana is by far the cheapest state in which to register an RV.
Does Montana have a luxury tax?
An annual “Ferrari tax” or “luxury tax” takes effect Jan. 1. It tacks on an additional $825 on registrations for vehicles valued at $150,000 or more that are 10 years old or less. Those with motor homes less than 11 years old and valued at $300,000 or more will pay an additional $800.
What is Montana State Income Tax?
Montana has a progressive state income tax, with a top rate of 6.9%. … There is no sales tax in the state and property taxes are below the national average.
What state has no sales tax on RVs?
The easiest way to avoid paying sales tax on a pricey RV is to buy and register it in one of the states that doesn’t have a general sales tax: Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon.
What states don’t have sales tax on RVs?
What States Have No Sales Tax on RVs. There are currently five states that have no sales tax at all – Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon. The states with the lowest combined state and local sales tax rates are Hawaii, Wyoming, Wisconsin, and Maine.
Is there sales tax on RV in Montana?
Montana does not have general sales tax, sales tax specific to vehicles and there is no property tax applicable to Recreational Vehicles. You may be wondering how this helps you, a resident of another state. The answer is the formation of a Limited Liability Company (LLC).
How much is sales tax on an RV in Florida?
Six (6) percent sales tax must be paid on all recreational vehicles (RVs) sold and/or delivered in Florida, unless specifically exempted by law. Many counties also impose a local discretionary sales surtax, which applies to the first $5,000 of the sales price.
Is Montana LLC legit?
In Montana, setting up a Montana LLC for out-of-staters for the purpose of avoiding sales taxes is perfectly legal. … The real Montana LLCs are legal everywhere. The shell Montana LLCs are legal … in Montana.
How do I register my SXS in Montana?
You must register your ATV or UTV in Montana by purchasing a registration decal from your County Treasurer. The OHV Registration Decal must be displayed on your ATV or UTV. Registration is not required if you are riding, with permission, you do not need to have your ATV or UTV registered.