A. In accordance with state law, N.J.S.A. 18A:39-1, all public elementary school students (grades K-8) who live more than two miles from their school and all public secondary school students (grades 9-12) who live more than two-and-a-half miles from their school are entitled to transportation.
How far do you have to live from a school to get a bus in New York?
Education Law 3635 requires that students be provided transportation if they live more than two miles (K-8) or three miles (9-12) from school.
Can you live in one school district and go to another in NJ?
Student eligibility and application process
All New Jersey students are eligible to become choice students, regardless of where they live in the state. Students may attend a choice school in another district and county, however the school must be in an approved choice district.
How far should you stand from a school bus?
You must stop your vehicle at least 20 feet before reaching a school bus that is stopped with its red lights flashing whether it is on your side of the road, the opposite side of the road, or at an intersection you are approaching. You must remain stopped until the flashing red lights are no longer operating.
What are the qualifications for a school bus?
In order to qualify for school transport, a child must be aged between 4 and 12 years and living 3.2 km or more from the nearest suitable national school. Children with special needs are also eligible for free transport to and from special schools and to special classes.
Can you live in NJ and go to public school in NY?
All school-age children who live in New Jersey have a right to a free public education regardless of immigration status. In 1982, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in a case called Plyler v. Doe that undocumented children and young adults have the same right as U.S. citizens and permanent residents to attend school.
How many school days can you miss in NJ?
Every absence (excused or unexcused) must be documented with the Main Office no later than ten (10) school days following the student’s return to school. Any Excused Absence or Verified-Unexcused Absence that is not documented within ten (10) school days will be considered an Unverified-Unexcused Absence.
Can you pay to attend a different school district?
But the new law allows schools to accept students from other districts for cash tuition. However, each school corporation is allowed to establish its own cash tuition policies, require parents to adhere to them, or decide to not accept students from outside the district at all.
How many feet do you stop behind a bus?
You must come to a full stop about 20 metres (about 4 to 5 car lengths) away from the school bus. This distance allows drivers of other vehicles behind you to see the flashing lights and students crossing the highway.
Is a bus safer than a car?
Second only to air travel, traveling by bus is one of the safest modes of transportation in the United States. … Bus travel is four times safer than passenger rail travel (another one of the safest modes of transportation), and it’s a staggering 50 times safer than private car travel.
How do I claim travel expenses for school?
Subsidy applications can be lodged online at www.transport.nsw.gov.au/schooldrive or using this paper application form. The application form must be completed by the parent or guardian of the student(s), not the student(s) themselves, even if they are aged 16 or over.
Is school bus free with Medical Card?
Pupils with medical cards
Pupils who are eligible for school transport (see above) and who hold a valid medical card are entitled to free school transport to the nearest school.